top of page

Top Shorts Winners - January 2022

Film of the Month

Blackhatter - Amanda Gecewicz

Best Narrative Film

The Only Good Thing - Carlos Rivera Fernandez

Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

The Perfect Match - Will Sidaros

Best Indie Film

Fools, Gold - Jim Allison

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Surviving Myself - Reza Tavakoli

Best Drama

Merry Go Round - Kara M. Canton

Best Comedy

Crabs in a Bucket - Alex Hashim

Best Thriller

Fountain Axis - Ali Matlock

Best Horror

bath - Roma Glova

Best Experimental Film

The Red Clock - Alexandra Balda

Best Dark Comedy

Plant Guy - Joey Z

Best LGBTQ Film

A Very Girl Night Stand Christmas - Jenna R Laurenzo

Best Music Video

ELYAZ - Remember Home - Mauro Elias Morone

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Fine - Emma Scotson, Valen-Marie Santos

Best Student Film

Second Wind - Guy Gazit

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Valentine's Night - Thomas Bozalis

Best Microfilm

I Can Only Sabotage My Self Sabotage - Stanzii

Best Director

Blackhatter - Amanda Gecewicz

Honorable Mention: Director

Teal to Orange - Yumi Masuda

Best Indie Filmmaker

Are you There Amazon? It’s Me, Margaret - Liam Joseph Johnston, Josh Henning

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

Born To Be A Queen - Iris Almaraz

Best Young Filmmaker

Wait For It - Ella West Jerrier

Best Actor

Blackhatter - Sean Ohlman

Honorable Mention: Actor

Merry Go Round - Don Knill

Best Actress

Merry Go Round - Nicole Marie Hunt

Honorable Mention: Actress

Teal to Orange - Marina Kozawa

Best Young Actor

The Only Good Thing - Yair Roman

Best Young Actress

Chloe - Molly Sasso

Best Child Actor

The Monkey King - Jason Chen

Best Ensemble

The Trust - Constance Forslund, Tangie Ambrose, Joe Nassi, Colin Thomas Jennings, Harris Shore

Best Editing

Fountain Axis - D.J. Ecal

Best Score

The Red Clock - Ron Potter

Honorable Mention: Score


Best Original Story

Blackhatter - Amanda Gecewicz, Sarah Quinn

Best Screenplay

For Laughs - Molly Roland

Best Drama Screenplay

Don't Forget Me - Danny Alex

Best Horror Screenplay

Room 13 - Kelly Jean Karam

Best First Time Screenwriter

Appearances - Joan Tofteland

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter

Quick Fix - Kenny Adebanjo

Best Television Script

Legends - Danny Alex

Special Jury Award

Suchtpotential - Franz Josef Danner

* Winners may order an official Top Shorts statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* 3 Top Shorts filmmakers will receive a free blog spot - sign up for free at

ELYAZ - Remember Home


bottom of page