top of page

9th Annual Top Shorts 2023: The Winners

We're thrilled to unveil the triumphant selections of the 9th edition of Top Shorts, celebrating outstanding achievements in both filmmaking and screenwriting.

After careful deliberation and fierce competition, we proudly present the remarkable projects that have made it to the top.

Best of Fest

OPIA - Edward Mines

Best Narrative Film

Torn Souls (Les Mains Vides) - Arthur Dupont

Best Indie Film

Goggles - Brenda Laidman, Anna Nadtotchii

Best Drama

Premonition - Nick Marchuk

Best Comedy

Boss of the Toss - Chris Harboldt

Best Thriller

More Than Meets The Eye - David Samson

Best Horror

E P - Nathan Alan Thomas

Best Sci-Fi

OPIA - Edward Mines

Best Experimental Film

Tenderness - Adam William Wilson

Best Inspirational Film

Osmosis - Thereza Helena

Best Fantasy Film

The Washer - Xiao Chen

Best Dark Comedy

Beep - Allan Plenderleith

Best Crime Film

In the Valley of the Moon - Luca Massimiliano Pizzoleo

Best LGBTQ Film

My Girlfriend's Family - Kimberly Schäfer, Riccarda Richter

Best Musical/Dance Film

Temporary Contemporary - Oliver David Brand

Best Web/TV Pilot

Future Dictator - Lucas Shim, Brad Tryon

Best Web Series

Axmo Deus - Noel Vinson, Abel Robinson, Luke Agius

Best Documentary

The Missing Weeks - Ali Ahmad Diab

Best Animation

Fugitive - Adis Kutkut

Best Music Video

Rosa Linn - Snap - Aramayis Hayrapetyan

Best Student Film

Jimmy Boden - Christopher Pickering

Best Microfilm

Sleepless Beauty - Gog Mkrtchyan

Best Director

In the Valley of the Moon - Luca Massimiliano Pizzoleo

Best First Time Director

Guan C·X8129 - Yizhi Lin

Best Indie Filmmaker

Well Past Midnight - Lucas Teichman Dudley

Best Young Filmmaker

All Right - Noah Collins

Best Actor

In the Valley of the Moon - Raz Fritz

Best Actress

In The Between - Gina Vitori

Best Young Actor

OPIA - Evan Hasler

Best Young Actress

Invisible Flags - Mia Sandler

Best Duo

Dave & Alice Want to Have Sex - Mark St. Cyr & Alli Brown

Best Ensemble

OPIA - Jake Shannon, Will Ennis, Brittany Howatt, Evan Hasler, Duncan McLellan

Best Cinematography

Jimmy Boden - Christopher Pickering

Best Editing

OPIA - Edward Mines

Best Score

Seashell - Pierre Gildenhuys

Best Commercial/Promotional Video

Fire on Tire - Royal Ismayilov

Best Original Story

Black Tie Optional - Shuban Krishnan

Best Screenplay

Burned - Loren Davis

Best Television Script

Praetorian - Dan Padbury

Special Jury Award

Luminous - Joseph Anthony Marcello

Breakthrough Filmmaker of the Year

Torn Souls (Les Mains Vides) - Arthur Dupont

Breakthrough Screenwriter of the Year

The Private Sector - Benjamin King

* The Best of Fest winner receives a free statuette. Other winners may order an official Top Shorts statuette.

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

OPIA - Trailer

Rosa Linn - Snap


bottom of page